RCGP recognises the valued work of SAPC colleagues with multiple awards

The work of SAPC members has been recognised in multiple awards made by the Royal College of General Practitioners.

Dr Jo Protheroe, SAPC Treasurer & SIG lead and Senior Academic GP at Keele, has been awarded the 2018 RCGP John Fry award for her leadership and work in the field of Health Literacy.

Professor Chris Dowrick, Professor of Primary Medical Care at Liverpool and Chair of the Working Party for Mental Health at WONCA, will receive the RCGP George Abercrombie award for special meritorious literary work in General Practice. 

Professor Kate O'Donnell, SAPC Chair and Professor of Primary Care at Glasgow, has been awarded Honorary Fellowship of the College - RCGP's most important award, offered in recognition of outstanding contribution to the work and the goals of the discipline and the College.

Professors O'Donnell and Dowrick will receive their awards at the RCGP AGM in November 2017. Dr Protheroe receives her award at the Spring Meeting in 2018.

Congratulations from all of us at SAPC to all three for  richly deserved recognition of their work!