2020 honours and congratulations

New Chairs appointed:

Simon de Lusignan, Director Oxford RCGP RSC, Oxford

Lisa Diikomitis, personal chair, Keele

Hazel Everitt, Professor of Primary Care, Southampton

Nick Francis, Professor of Primary Care, Southampton (moved from Cardiff)

Julia Hippesley-Cox, PC Epidemiology, Oxford

Clare Jinks, personal chair, Keele

Sophie Park, UCL

Stavros Petrou, Health Economics, Oxford

Cathy Pope, Social Sciences, Oxford


New Dean

Christian Mallen, Keele, Dean of the Medical School



John Campbell MBE (for Services to General Practice) – New Year’s honours list (2020)

Victoria Tzorziou-Brown OBE - New Year’s honours list

Jonathan Leach (RCGP) OBE - New Year’s honours list


Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of General Practitioners

Carl May, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (May 2020)

Fiona Stevenson, UCL

Simon Gilbody, York (Nov 2019)


Other notable awards and appointments made since July last year include

From Oxford

Ben Goldacre – British Academy Medal (July 2019), Oxford

Chris Butler – RCGP Wales GP of the Year (December 2019), Oxford

Kamal Mahtani – RCGP John Fry Award (July 2020), Oxford

Richard Hobbs - Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Oxford (February 2020)

From Southampton

Principal Investigators Prize – Miriam Santer, Southampton