Yvonne Carter Award for Outstanding New Researcher

Call for applications is now open. Deadline for submissions 31 January 2018.

The annual Yvonne Carter Award for Outstanding New Researcher, presented jointly by SAPC and the Royal College of General Practitioners and recognises the contributions of earlier career researchers in advancing the discipline of academic primary care through research. Academic primary care is a distinct discipline, which drives constant improvement in primary care through education and research. The £1,000 award is intended to enable the successful candidate to meet and collaborate with researchers in other countries, and to attend and present work at an international research meeting.

The award is in honour of Professor Yvonne Carter CBE. Yvonne was an outstanding and inspirational leader who had a remarkable impact on academic general practice and this award was instituted to commemorate her contribution to primary care research. 

To apply for the award applicants must submit:

  • An up to date CV
  • A letter outlining current research and plans for the award
  • A letter of support from the head of department


The award is open to earlier career researchers in primary care.

Applicants should have no more than 5 years (FTE) experience in academic primary care (that includes research and/or other scholarship or educational activity), and will normally have completed their PhD/MD, which should have been awarded no more than 5 years before application.

They should be affiliated to a recognised general practice/primary care research group in a UK/Ireland University, have published at least five pieces of original research in peer-reviewed journals – at least one as a lead author – and be actively engaged in high quality research which is genuinely grounded in primary care.

Further information and guidance to support the application can be found in the documents below:

For further information, please contact the Research team at SFB@rcgp.org.uk or phone 020 3188 7594. 

SAPC website information about the Yvonne Carter Award