The Society for Academic Primary Care

Championing expertise in Academic Primary Care and Driving Improvements in Primary Care provision

Become a member of SAPC today


Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, 1926 - 2022

We are deeply saddened by the death of Her Majesty the Queen and grateful for her many years of public service. Our sympathies are with the Royal Family. Link to BBC webpage

News from RCGP

Congratulations from SAPC to Professor Kamila Hawthorne who has been elected as next Chair of Council, RCGP, from November 2022. Kamila is a salaried GP in Mountain Ash, South Wales, and is currently Provost of the SE Wales Faculty of the RCGP. She...

Congratulations to SAPC's new Co-Chairs!

Congratulations to Dr Rupert Payne and Dr Duncan Shrewsbury who became Co-Chairs of SAPC at the AGM on 6th July 2022 at UCLan. They succeeded Prof Carolyn Chew-Graham who had completed her 3 year term as Chair (2019-2022).

Making a difference

SAPC North 2020

CHAMPIONING THE KNOWLEDGE WORK OF PRIMARY CARE Join us at this year's SAPC North first ever on-line conference to celebrate all that we do so that we can optimise the impact of our work. It is nearly a year since members of SAPC North met in Preston to share work, ideas and stories. Despite all that has happened since, our community have continued to champion scholarship at the heart of excellent primary care. Delivering innovation and best practice in teaching, research, quality improvement and clinical practice to ensure that primary care continues to serve as the bed rock of the NHS. This...

Teaching general practice: Guiding principles for undergraduate general practice curricula in UK medical schools

The Society for Academic Primary Care (SAPC) and the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) have collaborated to produce, for the first time, national guidance on the design and delivery of general practice learning and teaching in UK medical schools. The guidance is based on published evidence and current best practice in UK medical schools and has been refined through consultation with the Heads of Teachers group in SAPC, the Medical Schools Council (MSC), the General Medical Council (GMC) and the MRCGP Curriculum Development Group. It aims to support implementation of the...

Supporting General Practice careers

Professor Val Wass led a recent task force review to examine what could be done to promote GP careers within medical schools. Academic Primary Care, and the Society for Academic Primary Care, are recognised to play a key role in this agenda. This article outlines the key recommendations from the report and the work that SAPC is doing, in conjunction with partners, to address them.